by Jim Fossell

March 11, 2016

St. Charles, MO — St. Louis Ambush rookie Andre Hayne received Honorable Mention from the Major Arena Soccer League in the league’s All Rookie Team honors for the 2015-16 regular season. Hayne appeared in 13 games for the Ambush and tallied 12 goals and three assists. The league also announced  the individual award finalists for the season. Following is the entire MASL release:


Carlsbad, Calif. – The Major Arena Soccer League (MASL) announced today the Major Awards Finalists, and the All Rookie Team for the 2015/16 season. Each team, as well as members of the league’s front office, were given a ballot, and voting was conducted through the end of the regular season which concluded on March 4. Players who received the most points at each position were placed on the All-League teams. The MASL will be announcing the league’s All-Team selections on Tuesday, March 15 and the winners of the Major Awards on Thursday, March 17.


MASL Most Valuable Player
F – Franck Tayou (Sonora)
F – Kraig Chiles (San Diego)
GK – Danny Waltman (Tacoma)

MASL Rookie of the Year
D – Leo de Oliveira (Waza Flo)
F – Adolfo Bautista (Chicago)
F – Alejandro Leyva (Sonora)
M – Mike Ramos (Tacoma)

MASL Goalkeeper of the Year
GK – Danny Waltman (Tacoma)
GK – William Vanzela (Baltimore)
GK – Boris Pardo (Missouri)

MASL Defender of the Year
D – Victor Baez (Saltillo)
D – Pat Healey (Baltimore)
D – Damian Garcia (Sonora)

MASL Coach of the Year
Luis Jaime Borrego (Sonora)
Darren Sawatzky (Tacoma)
Vlatko Andonovski (Missouri)

Starting in goal, Andrew Coughlin of Syracuse played a big role for Coach Tommy Tanner. The Baldwinsville, NY native joined the Silver Knights after graduating from Canisius College in Buffalo. He recorded a total of 89 saves in seven games and finished with a 5.06 GAA (fourth best), and a .712 save percentage.

Sonora entered the 2015/16 season as one of the league’s expansion teams. Defender Roberto Escalante, 28, played for Soles in all 20 games in his first indoor soccer campaign. He totaled 11 points on six goals and five assists. The Waza Flo completed their first season after relocating to Flint, MI, which was a success as the team qualified to the 2016 Ron Newman Cup Playoffs after finishing third in the Eastern Division. Part of this success was rookie defender Thiago Gonçalves, who totaled 15 points on 10 goals and five assists.

In their first full season as a MASL team, the Tacoma Stars made it all the way to the postseason, eliminating Pacific Division opponent Ontario Fury and finishing the regular campaign as one of the hottest teams. Midfielder Mike Ramos became Coach Darren Sawatzky’s most efficient player as he scored back-to-back game-winning goals with seconds left in Week’s 18 and 19. He totaled 15 points on 10 goals and five assists.

Perhaps one of the biggest signings of the year, Mexican forward Adolfo “Bofo” Bautista ignited the Chicago Mustangs offense from the very first time he stepped on the field this season. The FIFA World Cup veteran and Liga MX Champion with Guadalajara, finished his first professional indoor soccer campaign with 24 points off of 18 goals and six assists.

Also from the MASL Regular Season Champion Sonora, forward Alejandro Leyva earned All-Rookie Team honors after making an impact in his very second game with Soles where he scored five goals against the San Diego Sockers. The Hermosillo, Mexico native totaled 35 points with 30 goals and five assists.


All-MASL Rookie Team
F – Alejandro Leyva | Soles de Sonora
F – Adolfo “Bofo” Bautista | Chicago Mustangs
M – Mike Ramos | Tacoma Stars
D – Thiago Gonçalves | Waza Flo
D – Roberto Escalante Medina | Soles de Sonora
GK – Andrew Coughlin | Syracuse Silver Knights

Honorable Mention MASL Rookies
F – Brandon Escoto (Baja)
D – Ricardo Carvalho (Chicago)
GK – Hector Casillas (Las Vegas)
GK – Rafael Diaz (Detroit)
F – Leo de Oliveira (Detroit)
M – Andre Hayne (St Louis)
M – Anibal Echeverria (Sacramento)
D – Alex Tozer (Cedar Rapids)
D – Sean Totsch (Milwaukee)
M – Cristian Gutierrez (Baja)
D – Juan Carlos Gonzalez (Ontario)

The MASL will be announcing the league’s All-Team selections on Tuesday, March 15 and the winners of the Major Awards on Thursday, March 17.