by Jeff Husted

KANSAS CITY (August 15, 2017) – The Major Arena Soccer League (MASL) announced today the divisional and conference alignments for the upcoming 2018-2019 season. Just as in previous seasons, the 17 teams vying for the 2019 Ron Newman Cup will be split into four divisions and two conferences.


South Central DivisionEastern Division
Florida TropicsBaltimore Blast
Kansas City CometsHarrisburg Heat
Milwaukee WaveMississauga
Orlando SeaWolvesUtica City FC
St Louis Ambush 


Pacific DivisionSouthwest Division
Ontario FuryDallas Sidekicks
San Diego SockersEl Paso Coyotes
Tacoma StarsMonterrey Flash
Turlock ExpressRGV Barracudas

“The formation of rivals takes many forms. Some are geographic, and some are born from historic clashes,” said MASL Commissioner Joshua Schaub. “We believe the divisional line up put together provides our fans with the ability to see rivalries renewed and new ones formed. In addition, it provides flexibility to leverage the best dates possible for fans to access their favorite teams.”

 The MASL landscape sees a few changes from the last season. The Eastern Division will be a battle throughout. After moving up the road, Utica City FC is loading up to make a divisional run, while their neighbors to the north are set to become the first Canadian team in the MASL, playing in Mississauga’s Paramount Fine Foods Centre. The Harrisburg Heat have a new coach and a new approach to their season, meanwhile everyone will still be gunning for the three-time champion, Baltimore Blast.

 The fierce rivalries between the Milwaukee Wave, Kansas City Comets and St Louis Ambush will once again be something for MASL fans to enjoy. This year, in the newly renamed South Central Division, they will be joined by a new rivalry as the MASL’s two Florida-based teams, the Florida Tropics and Orlando SeaWolves jump into the mix.

 In the Western Conference, the Dallas Sidekicks will make their return to the MASL as they re-join their fellow Texas neighbors and last season’s Ron Newman Cup Finalists, the Monterrey Flash, in the Southwest Division. The Pacific division is the only one to remain unchanged from last season.

 The full 2018-2019 schedule is set to be release this fall with the regular season kicking off the weekend of December 1st. Be sure to follow the MASL on social media and check for all the latest on the upcoming season.


The Major Arena Soccer League represents the highest level of professional arena soccer in the world. The MASL features teams across North America, with teams playing coast-to-coast in the United States and Mexico. The MASL is currently incorporated as a 501(c)6 not for profit corporation formed to promote the business and sport of arena soccer.