by Pete Richmire

CARLSBAD, CA. APRIL 9, 2021 - The Major Arena Soccer League has announced Jimmy Nordberg of the Ontario Fury is the 2021 Coach of the Year. Nordberg's Fury finished the regular season with the #2 Seed headed to the Ron Newman Cup playoffs. Following playoff series wins over the Dallas Sidekicks and Kansas City Comets, the Fury will challenge the San Diego Sockers next weekend for the Championship.

Calculating the 1st, 2nd and 3rd All-MASL Teams are based on a point system. Players receive three points for a 1st team vote, two points for the 2nd team, and one point for a 3rd team vote. The highest number of points is then calculated to determine three Forward/Midfielders in each team, then two Defenders, and one GK. In case of a tie in points, it is determined by who had more 1st team votes, then 2nd team. The All-Rookie Team is selected by the highest total votes by position (F, M/F, D, GK). Individual Major Awards are based on the highest number of total votes. Tiebreakers go to the player with the most all league points or it can be determined a tie.

2021 Voting Ballots Submitted:

Head Coaches - 2.99%

Players - 88.06%

Team Staff - 6.72%